Samstag, 24. Juli 2010

Solid Ground: MC Googly, Poison Ladd and Beats In General

Poison Ladd S.L.R. and Beats In General come around with their next Solid Ground installments.

The double release will feature MC Googley's "The Ghetto Soldiers EP" (96) and Poison Ladd S.L.R. & Beats In General featuring Black Pussy bw. Red Wagon (92/93).

Mc Googly aka William Daniels ("The Public Enemy Of Philly") born and raised in Philadelphia, Pa. (North Philly) in 1967, moved to the logan section of Philadelphia in 1980, where he first witnessed hip hop at its finest. We’re talking 2 Turntables and a microphone. Well known Dj’s like Disco Rat, Disco Poo Sex Machine, would be off the hook with performances, with rappers, and rap groups. His study of the rap game had him rapping at the early age of 13 sounding just as good as the older rappers. In 1983 he met Ronald Potts known then as Mc Rockwell aka Poison Ladd at Olney Highschool in Philadelphia where the challenge each other to take there skills to the next level. Shortly after, they met Wayne Rhoads know then as Big which they later named Extortionist B aka Beats In General and they formed a group "Boys Of Doom" they produced a sound that still today is ringing in the public ear. They were considered one of the hottest groups in philly at that time, but still no shine in 1984. In 1987 the Boys Of Doom had to part due to Mc Googly’s incarceration which he did a 2 year sentence. His incarceration helped him perfect his rap skills, Mc Googly returned to the group B.O.D. in 1989 and recorded several solo songs but violated his parole and returned right back to prison until 1992. By then B.O.D. was no more, and Ronald Potts, & Wayne Rhoads became Poison Ladd S.L.R. – Beats In General., so Mc Googly moved on as a solo artist recording various hip hop songs throughout the 90’s. We hope you enjoy the many lost treasures of Mc Googly, One of the illest Mc’s of philly. The record is limited to 300 copies.

A1: Kick'n It
A2: They Got Me (Interlude)
A3: Ghetto Soldiers
B1: All Day (Instro)
B2: Timbre Timbre
B3: The Situation Is Kick'd Up

The second 12" features previously unreleased tracks from Poison Ladd S.L.R. from the time around 1993 / 1994. All tracks produced by Beats In General and limited to 300 copies.

A1: Black Pussy (Vocal)
A2: Yo Yo Yo Verse
B1: Red Wagon (Vocal)
B2: Red Wagon (Instrumental)

My special thanks goes out to Ronald and Wayne. You know what time it is!!!

Keine Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen

name your AKA, anonym comments will not be posted